“Gustavo Sclocchi” Theses Awards 2017

In order to encourage and reward university graduates who specialise in petroleum engineering, geo-sciences and other disciplines related to the oil & gas industry, the SPE (Society of Petroleum Engineers – Italian Section), the EAGE (European Association of Geoscientists & Engineers) and Assomineraria (Italian Petroleum and Mining Industry Association – Hydrocarbon and Geothermal Resources Sector) are pleased to announce the 25th “Gustavo Sclocchi” Thesis Award.

The awards are for the best theses in geosciences and petroleum engineering presented by any university and diploma graduates, and  Ph.D students from Italian universities as well as by  Italian nationals graduated abroad. The awards started in 1993 and since 2001 have been associated with the late Gustavo Sclocchi, an Eni manager, who was the main promoter of the event and this year reached the 25th edition. Over the last 23 years 615 theses have been submitted out of which 136 have won awards.

All university graduates from Italian universities and Italian nationals graduated abroad, who will complete their studies or research in the period from November 1st 2016 to October 31st 2017, are entitled to submit their published thesis for the award.


The theses must cover subjects related to Hydrocarbon (from fossil sources and biomasses) and Geothermal Exploration & Production activities:

  • Geology, Geophysics and Formation Evaluation
  • Drilling and Completion
  • Reservoir Engineering
  • Production, Transport and Hydrocarbon Upgrading (Midstream Technologies)
  • Health, Safety, Environment and Carbon Management
  • Energy Economics

Candidates must comply with the following deadlines:

  • Send Contact Information (Application Form) and Abstract (2 pages max, in English or Italian) deadline October 31th, 2017
  • Complete electronic copy of the thesis (English or Italian, accepted formats: MS Word and PDF Acrobat) – deadline November 5th, 2017
  • Graduation Certificate – before the Award Ceremony (December 2017)

All documents must be sent to It is strongly recommended to use jumbo mail, we-transfer, drop-box or an equivalent system to submit large dimension manuscripts (larger than 10-15 MB).

Any questions can be addressed to: The Evaluation Committee shall select the theses considered to be the most worthy of receiving the Award. Its decision is final and is not subject to appeal.

Please note that the Abstracts have significant weight on the evaluation process, so that their careful and accurate preparation contributes to the overall thesis rating.

The manuscripts will be subdivided, judged and awarded according to the following four categories:

(a) 2nd Level Master Reports
(b) Bachelor of Science (Laurea di I livello) theses
(c) Master of Science (Laurea Magistrale) theses
(d) Doctor of Philosophy (Dottorato di Ricerca) theses

The prize for categories (a) and (b) will be 1,200€ (twelve hundred Euros) and a plaque. The prize for each winning thesis belonging to categories (c) and (d) will be 2,400€ (twenty four hundred Euros) and a plaque. The award for the running-up theses will consist in a “special mention” plague. Moreover, a reference of each award-winning thesis will be published in the «SPE Bulletin» of the Italian Section, in the «EAGE First Break» journal and in the «Assomin Bulletin».No more than two (2) money prizes for categories (a) and (b) will be awarded. No more than three (3) money prizes for categories (c) and (d) will be awarded. The Evaluation Committee will select the number of the money prizes, among classes (a/b) and (c/d), according to the number of received manuscripts per class and the results of the evaluation process. The number of special mention awards for all categories will be similarly decided, with a maximum of six (6).

The Award ceremony will take place on December 2017 in San Donato Milanese (Italy) and winners will be asked to deliver a short presentation of their thesis work. Winners will be notified in due time of the date and venue of the ceremony and of the presentation guidelines.

Social Sharing