Maine State is one of the states in the United States of America that has legalized the sale, purchase, and growth of both recreational and medical cannabis In case therefore you are a cannabis consumer in Maine, you have nothing to worry as everything concerning cannabis is legalized. Nevertheless, cannabis laws are changing each day, as legislators seek to take the lead in the regulation of the sector. That is why you need to occasionally update yourself with the changing legislations. This article will therefore highlight the frequently asked questions about cannabis legalization in Maine, USA, so as to help you stay in the right side of the law.
Is cannabis legalized in Maine State?
In case you are a cannabis user and you stay in Maine, you are one of the luckiest people in the country. This is because both recreational and medical cannabis is legalized. However, in case you want to buy medical marijuana, you must be diagnosed with one of the listed ailments, have a cannabis card, as well as be over 21 years and above. However, if you have had been charged with drug offenses before, you are automatically disqualified for the cannabis card. In case you use cannabis for recreational purposes, you will need to buy your cannabis from insured and licensed Green Society cannabis dispensaries, and observe the limit regulations.
Where do cannabis taxes go?
In case you are familiar with cannabis laws, you will have known by now that cannabis products are taxable in Maine. However, most of the people wonder where the money that is collected as taxes for cannabis goes to at the long last. The cannabis law in Maine is very clear in this, in that five percent goes to the towns where retail as well as cultivation businesses are located. Six percent goes to the law enforcement, the same with public education while the remainder is taken by the Maine State general fund.
How much cannabis can one own?
You can never have the amount of cannabis that you want in Maine State. This is because marijuana laws have set possession limits of cannabis buy my weed online that you must have at once. In case you are an adult of 21 years and above, you can only possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis. In addition, you can only cultivate three cannabis plants in your home, as long as the plant is out of public view and you have put measures to ensure that children under the age of 21 years cannot access the plant. In addition, each cannabis plant that you grow must be tagged with your name as well as ID number.